Our Deanery

A deanery is a group of parishes that acts in common to foster pastoral care. The priest in charge of a deanery is called a dean. He is appointed to this position by the diocesan bishop. Saint Helen belongs to the Q-8 Deanery. Our current dean is Father Robert Barclay, who also serves as pastor of Saint Elizabeth Parish in Ozone Park. The following parishes belong to the Q-8 Deanery. We encourage you to visit their websites to learn more about them.

Saint Elizabeth, Ozone Park

Very Reverend Robert Barclay, V.F., Pastor (and Dean of Q-8 Deanery)


Holy Child Jesus, Richmond Hill

Most Reverend Octavio Cisneros, D.D., Pastor

Reverend Christopher Heanue, Parochial Vicar/Administrator


Nativity of the Blessed Virgin Mary-Saint Stanislaus Bishop and Martyr, Ozone Park

Reverend Paul Palmiotto, Pastor


Our Lady of Grace, Old Howard Beach

Reverend Marc Swartvagher, Pastor


Our Lady of Perpetual Help, South Ozone Park

Reverend Vincent Daly, Pastor


Saint Benedict Joseph Labre, Richmond Hill

Reverend Philip Pizzo, Pastor


Saint Mary Gate of Heaven, Ozone Park

Reverend Gerald Fitzsimmons, S.M.M., Pastor


Saint Teresa of Avila-Saint Anthony of Padua, South Ozone Park

Reverend Richard Conlon, Pastor

Saint Thomas the Apostle, Woodhaven

Reverend Frank Tumino, Pastor